Countdown to Ironman: 3 weeks to go

13 02 2017

Ridiculous.

That’s the word one of my training buddies used to describe this past weekend’s training ride.

We can handle 5 hours. We can handle hill reps. But 5 hours of hill reps is just, well, ridiculous.

When I tweeted about the resulting stats – 1700m elevation gained over 102kms – someone wanted to check that our coach knew we weren’t entered for the Tour de France.

I sometimes wonder.

It was another one of those days when the mental game needed to be on point.

And it was a day when training partners were a necessity, not a nice to have. It felt like there was a collective strength as well as individual. Without each other, we acknowledged that we wouldn’t have gone as far, as high, for as long if we’d been alone.

20170211_110821

Ten reps, over three different hills.

20170211_172326

As we reach the pointy end of training, with one big week left in the plan, our bodies seem to be in a state of permanent fatigue, and our minds are impacted too.

One squad mate claims to have a severe case of “Ironman brain” – a general sense of forgetfulness and confusion! When he told me the symptoms I had to admit to displaying some myself – if a little milder.

Another describes herself as an Ironman “zombie” where the sheer volume of exercise and lack of volume of sleep contribute to a sense of auto-pilot. Especially when it comes to those long runs.

It reminded me of this video I saw a couple of years ago

Yep. That pretty much sums it up.

And I know what most of you are thinking.

That’s ridiculous. Right?

 

Actions

Information




