Ironman is a selfish sport

27 01 2017

There’s no getting away from it. Doing an Ironman is selfish.

For most people there’s no other reason to do it apart from self-fulfilment and gratification.

There are also some inspirational athletes who are doing it to overcome adversity. Or to stick two fingers up at fate or destiny that have put obstacles in their way at one point.

I’m definitely in the former camp. There’s no real barriers that I’m trying to overcome. Only the mental ones in my own head.

Training for an Ironman you have to be completely selfish because it’s basically all about you and you absolutely NEED to get the training done or risk those fateful letters that no one wants to see.

DNF.

It’s selfish because you spend a lot of money. There’s a constant stream of nutrition, clothing, toys, accommodation, training programmes and camps, accessories, bike repairs and the entry fee itself.

Your training robs you of time with family and friends, it eats into your social life and your sleep.

So I’m trying to make it not so selfish.

I want to make this count.

I want to raise money for a worthy cause.

So I’m fundraising for the Cancer Society.

Everybody knows somebody who’s been affected by cancer. Personally, I lost my dear grandfather to it. One of my best friends from university lost her battle at the grand old age of 42. The wife of another university friend is a survivor. But another friend from school is about to lose hers. Also at 42.

What I’m doing is a small gesture in the grand scheme of things. But as Tesco says, every little helps.

And on the day, when things get tough out there, I can remind myself of who I’m doing it for. And how, all things considered, I haven’t got it that tough at all. I chose to do this. And I can make that choice. Others aren’t so lucky.

To donate to this wonderful cause, please visit my fundraising page.

 

83_3rd-628957-digital_highres-1565_019915-5968592

I was finding it pretty tough during Ironman 70.3 Taupo in December. But I haven’t really got it tough at all

 

Actions

Information

One response

28 02 2017
Countdown to Ironman: 1 week to go | A little old blog, by little old me

[…] couple of months ago I committed to raising money for the Cancer Society to give my Ironman more purpose. To make it more than just about a medal. And a […]




