How much do you want it?

9 03 2016

I’ve been hearing a lot about choices lately.

At work, I’m involved in a programme that’s aimed at changing the way we think about the way we work. It’s a kind of culture change, empowering people to make the right decisions. The right choices.

Releasing the shackles.

Changing mindsets.

Challenging the status quo.

For some people this can be quite uncomfortable. Changing the way you do something is never easy.

Try this.

Cross your arms. That feels comfortable right? Now try crossing them the other way.

It feels really weird. And that’s what any kind of change can feel like. You might be afraid of the unknown. It can be disorienting. It can be destabilising. It can be upsetting. But it doesn’t have to be.

You can choose how you approach change. You can view it as an opportunity to do something differently. You can use it as a licence to be more creative and innovative.

After all, you know that old saying “a change is as good as a rest”…

When things change, whether it’s at work or home, you might think you’re powerless in the situation. But the best way to overcome that is to control what you can. And that’s all down to you.

Your choices:

  • You can be positive or negative.
  • You can be responsible and take ownership (“I’m going to do this”), or you can play the victim (“I’m too busy for this”).
  • You can be committed to make big change, or you can be compliant and do the bare minimum.
  • You can choose to be OK, or not OK.

It reminded me of an article my coach (even though I’m not training for anything, I still call him my coach!) recently wrote about the choices people make when training for something.

Take me. You give me a training plan and I’ll execute it to the letter. I get all the guilts if I miss a training session. You don’t know how much angst I went through when I wasn’t able to do all the swim training sessions The Boss had put in my half ironman programme.

At the end of the day, not doing all those sessions was the right thing to do as I re-learnt my entire stroke. It was a conscious decision I made.

A choice. I’d rather get the stroke right and hopefully swim more efficiently, than continue to try and sacrifice my form just to get the (slow) distance in.

Together, the choices I made got me a result that exceeded my expectations. I achieved my dreams. And then some.

Your choices, whether it’s in life, sport, or work, will determine whether you achieve your goals or not, or whether you smash them out of the park.
Your choices set you up to succeed, or fail.

So ask yourself, how much do you really want it?

choices

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

