Is home where the heart is?

28 09 2014

Our fourth anniversary of being in NZ passed us by. Without either of us batting an eyelid.

I was quite shocked by this as we’ve noted it every year so far. It’s a huge milestone. Before moving here, we’d only ever lived in the same place for two and a half years. So to have stayed in the same place for a whole 48 months is one hell of an achievement for us.

At the same time, I worked out that we left the UK six and a half years ago. It certainly doesn’t feel that long. But it means that since we’ve been together, we’ve lived more than half of our time “abroad”.

But what does “abroad” mean now? Given that we’ve lived outside the UK for so long, are we abroad? Or is the UK abroad to us now?

They say home is where the heart is, but can your heart to belong to two places?

I’m British. I was born in the UK and lived there for over 33 years. My family and the friends I’ve known the longest are still there. Most of the people that hold my heart.

I never thought I’d ever be able to live “abroad”. Not emotionally, more in the sense of I didn’t know how. But an opportunity to move to the States for three years with work changed that.

While living there, a holiday to NZ saw us fall in love with the country. The place stole our hearts. So we decided to try our luck living here.

Of course we had reservations about moving even further away from family and friends. And also about “failing”. But we wanted to give it a go, because we didn’t want to look back in the future and say “I wish we’d done it”.

At least if we did it, and it didn’t work out, we could say “at least we gave it a go”. No regrets.

But four years later there are no regrets. My heart feels at home here.

Maybe that’s why four years have passed without us barely noticing.

It’s not like we’re ticking the days off on the calendar or anything. But our time served here in kiwiland is starting to matter more now we’re on the countdown to becoming true kiwis.

In nine months time, we get to apply for citizenship. Then it won’t just be our hearts that will be divided. Our loyalties could be too 😉

Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2015
Nō Niu Tīreni ahau – I am from New Zealand | A little old blog, by little old me

[…] in a different country to the one you’re brought up in, you can often feel schizophrenic. Your heart can be torn. So I would quite often answer the “where are you from?” question with a slightly […]




