Changing goals

5 08 2014

I’m competitive. It’s a running joke at work. If I’m committed to something, I go after it 110%.

Obviously this can have its advantages, especially if you’re on my team!

And it isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

I compete with myself. But this means challenging myself to go further. Faster. Or do something better than I did before.

But it does mean that, when I don’t do as well as I have done previously, I can be really hard on myself.

So when it comes to setting goals for myself, I have to be realistic. I can’t push myself too hard, or put too much pressure on myself. I’ve done that before, and it doesn’t feel good.

I’m due to run my 7th half marathon in a week and a half. I hadn’t been training properly, but was still thinking I could give it a good shot and be close to 2 hours.

Then I got injured. Being competitive. At indoor footy. I went for a 50/50 ball and felt the guy’s shin or knee strike my own knee. Bone on bone never feels good.

I thought a few days’ rest would solve it. My knee did get better. The swelling reduced. But not fully. My range of motion wasn’t there. I couldn’t even do a quad stretch. Pretty damaging if you’re a runner.

So to the physio I went. I was instructed not to run and that me even making the half marathon was in the balance. “We’ll see” was all he said.

We agreed that no PBs were likely, not that I was planning one. But even my hope of getting close to 2 hours is unlikely now. I’ve not run in two weeks. And I’ve done nothing over 11.5kms. Yet I’m supposed to run 21.1 on 17 August.

I’ll do it. Because Competitive Me won’t let me not do it! But I have to rethink my goals. I have to rethink my race strategy. I have to make sure I get round and not worry about the time.

That will be a hard thing for Competitive Me to come to terms with. But I have to do it. Or I’m setting myself up to fail.

I have to be happy with the fact that I’ve even made the start line. I have to make sure that’s good enough for me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 01 2015
A mental year | A little old blog, by little old me

[…] can override your brain. Yes you can have certain strong instincts, but you can fight them. You can tell yourself to do something different. In 2014 I battle my competitive instincts, but then I used them to my advantage too. Get to know […]

2 10 2015
To be the best you can be, you need to compare you with you | A little old blog, by little old me

[…] openly admit that I’m competitive. And that can be an advantage. But at other times it can be […]




