Hindsight is a wonderful thing

11 07 2014

I’ve just started reading a book called “How not to get fat” which aims to prevent people becoming overweight by teaching you how the body works and how it converts food into energy. The idea is that then you won’t have to diet, because you’ll understand the relationship between your body and food.

So why haven’t we been taught this earlier? Why have we been left bouncing around on yoyo diets, trying every trick in the book to lose weight, and keep it off?

Like many things in life though, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

It’s so easy to look back and say “if only I’d known this sooner, I wouldn’t have had that extra serving of cheesecake.”

How many times do you look back on a situation and go “I wish I’d done things differently”.

Hindsight is indeed a wonderful thing. Or are we actually talking about the fact that we lacked foresight?

Regardless, I truly believe that you have to go through an experience to come out the other end to actually learn from it. I remember when I was younger and doing my school homework, I’d ask my mum for answers but she’d tell me to go and look it up in the encyclopedia (remember those?!) because if I found the answer out for myself, I’d be more likely to remember it.

And do you know what? She was right.

The same goes for foresight.

If we didn’t have the chance to choose our own path, and make our own mistakes, would we actually learn anything? Or would the things that we learn due to experience actually “stick” better? I believe they do.

When you’ve experienced the consequences of getting something “wrong” it makes you more determined to not make the same mistakes again. I don’t think you should regret those mistakes. Just as long as you chalk it up to experience, put it behind you, and learn from it.

Use it to make you stronger. And better.

Just like getting fat. Once you’ve been there and then lost weight, by whatever means, you’ll do whatever it takes not to go there again.

Actions

Information

One response

7 01 2015
A mental year | A little old blog, by little old me

[…] don’t regret mistakes you’ve made. Learn from them and help them make you a stronger, better person. Understand why it was a mistake […]




