Happy winter

1 06 2014

This weekend marked the first day of winter. And again I’m reminded of why I live living here. Yeah, OK. So when Wellington is foul, it’s truly vile. But those days are few and far between, leaving plenty of days where the sun shines and the water is still.

It makes winter here much more bearable, and it also feels so much shorter. I remember back in the UK, winter would feel like it lasted 6 months at a time. Here it whizzes by. Sometimes I think if you blink you can sometimes miss it.

I posted a photo to facebook saying how I love Wellington on days like this, tagging a friend who I’d been showing around. This meant that her friends could also see the post.

One of her facebook friends then commented on the fact that Wellington doesn’t have enough good days for her to want to live here.

I didn’t ask for opinions on whether she wanted to live here. I didn’t say it was the best place to live. I cast no judgments on any other place in New Zealand. Yet that was the first comment on my photo from someone I didn’t even know.

It reminded me how easy it is for people to be negative on social media. You become a faceless entity. You can hide behind anonymity. It’s possible that you’ll never meet some of these people IRL!

But one of the things I love about Wellington is the fact that it is a village in reality. You always find that when you meet people, they always know someone you know. There is no such thing as six degrees of separation. Here there’s more like two.

That can be a good thing. Or a bad one. Depending on whether people like you! Or whether you’ve done something bad in a previous life.

But I think (hope) I’m a nice person. So I don’t think I’ve got anything to worry about there! I’ve got some great friends here who would tell me if I wasn’t! So I quite like that aspect of this town.

It’s not everyone’s cup of tea. That’s fine. Each to their own. I respect other people’s opinions. And I’m quite glad that not everyone wants to live in Wellington. Otherwise it would be more like Auckland. And then there would be plenty of reasons I wouldn’t want to live here. So I’m happy with the way things are.

image

image

But who wouldn’t love Wellington on a good day? Even if you don’t want to live here?

Actions

Information




