100 days of happy

21 04 2014

Earlier this year, I signed up for a bit of a challenge. It’s actually one of many I’ve signed up for lately! But it’s the first I’ve completed.

For those of you that haven’t heard about #100happydays, the basic premise is that you take at least one photo every day of something that makes you happy.

It can be anything. And that’s the beauty of it. It’s completely your own interpretation of it.

All too often, we tend to focus on the negatives in our lives. Failing to lift our heads above water to appreciate the good stuff we’ve got going on.

Life was proving to be a bit of a challenge when I started this. But little did I know what else would be thrown at me during these 100 days that would make this feel even harder to complete.

At a couple of points during those three and a bit months, I wondered how I would ever keep it up. But when it came to it, I didn’t have to look too far to find something that made me smile. Even if it was only on the inside at times.

image

image

image

image

image

image

The whole exercise made me realise just how lucky I am. I have a lot in my life to be thankful for. And then there’s also some stuff that I’d change if I could (some of it I can’t) and some of it is a work in progress.

Others I’ve seen do the challenge have asked if you only post one photo per day. My philosophy throughout was to post anything and everything that makes you happy. Because that’s what it’s about. There’s no limit on how much happiness you can have in a day.
I’m now more appreciative of what I have. And I intend to keep posting pictures as often as I can to remind myself of this. I’m lucky. Luckier than many. I have no need to feel self pity. And I don’t intend to think like that any more.

All of my #100happydays photos are on my instagram. I hope you enjoy the journey as much as I have.

There’s also a lot of things that haven’t appeared in my #100happydays, for whatever reason. But they have been there in my head and in my heart ❤

Actions

Information




