Tough choices at work

29 08 2011

I came to NZ on the back of a job offer that I obtained while still living abroad. I consider myself incredibly lucky to have got that and I’ve been with the same firm for nearly a year.

Part of the original interview discussions centred around the possibility of buying into the said business as one of the two partners was planning to retire. It all sounded very exciting. A business ownership proposition along with a new life in the country we wanted to be in. Doesn’t get much better.

Fast forward nearly a year. The ownership discussions have been taking placed over several months but, do you know, the person selling up hasn’t even spoken to me about what she’s selling and what she wants for it. All talks have taken place through the remaining partner, and I think this is where the matter gets complicated.

The story we get about what to buy, how much of it, at what cost, and how, keeps changing. Different requirements keep popping up and new criteria keep being added.

Except for buying a house, this would be the single biggest purchase we’d make. We want to be damn sure that we want it and that it’s going to give us what we want. So when the goalposts keep moving, you start to wonder if it’s the right thing to do. From being certain this was what I wanted to give us a secure and profitable future, I’m starting to feel like I don’t want the hassle.

Added to this has been some frustrations with work. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve been outsourced from work on a contract at a government department. Now that would be fine on its own, but my “real” boss wants me to keep doing work for him and the agency. This means that I have to work on evenings and weekends, which I don’t think is fair.

But I know what my “real” boss’s reaction is likely to be – when it’s your own business, you work as and when required as you’ve got more skin in the game.

I get that. But I’m not there yet. I don’t own part of the business yet. I don’t get time off in lieu and the ability to claim a bonus on any of the work done “out of hours”. And this doesn’t even include the fact that I’m not likely to make my bonus threshold while I’m on contract anyway (a whole other story).

So I feel like I’m at a bit of a crossroads in my new NZ life right now. The partnership was part of the attraction to me when we originally came. But it’s been such a frustrating process, I’m not sure I want to commit to it right now.

Add to this the fact that a fantastic job has come up with the one company I really want to work for and, well, that’s really thrown the cat amongst the pigeons! I’ve thrown my hat in that ring too, just to see what might come of it. It might end up making the decision for me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

